Don’t Delay: Submit Entries, Nominations for Leagues’ Awards Programs

League Awards
L-R: Immediate Past California League Board Chairman and Financial Partners CU CEO Nader Moghaddam; 2019 Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Eileen Rivera; California and Nevada Credit Union Leagues President and CEO Diana Dykstra; and Nevada League Board Chairman and Silver State Schools FCU CEO Scott Arkills.

The deadline for entries for the Credit Union National Association (CUNA) Dora Maxwell, Louise Herring, and Desjardins awards is fast approaching. Entries must be submitted by Friday, July 31. And the deadline to nominate worthy individuals for the California and Nevada Credit Union Leagues Awards program is coming up soon as well. Nominations are due Friday, Aug. 14. In addition, nominations are being sought for the Kim Bannan Eternal Flame Awards.


Be recognized for your credit unions' efforts to make a difference in the lives of members and communities. And this year, CUNA is looking to recognized efforts to help those affected by the COVID-19 and economic crisis. The Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award is given to credit unions for their involvement in almost any kind of activity that helps other people or strengthens the structure of a community. The Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award is presented to credit unions for outstanding internal programs and services that benefit membership. Have an awesome youth or adult financial education program? Showcase them by entering the Desjardins Adult or Youth Financial Education Awards.

First-place winners in each asset category AND in each awards program will have their entries forwarded to CUNA for the national-level competition.  For more information and to submit your electronic entries click here for California and here for Nevada.

Last year, Patelco CU and Delta Schools FCU not only received first-place awards at the state level but went on to win at the national level in the Desjardins awards programs and were honored at a special reception during this year's CUNA Government Affairs Conference in Washington, D.C.

This could be the year your credit union is recognized nationally for an outstanding program!


Please take the time to submit a nomination an outstanding person today for any of the following awards:

The Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award, the Leagues' highest honor, recognizing credit union leaders from California and Nevada for their long-standing efforts and achievements within the credit union movement.

The Distinguished Service Award honors credit union professionals for service to the credit union community outside the usual scope of employment at a credit union, and beyond the scope of their chapter in the most recent three years.

The J. Alvin George Outstanding Volunteer Award honors significant and recent contributions by people who serve credit unions in volunteer capacities, such as a director or committee member.

The Tomorrow’s Star Award recognizes the most recent achievements by young credit union professionals age 35 and under.

The 2019 recipients of the League Awards were: Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award—Eileen Rivera, retired CEO of SkyOne FCU; Distinguished Service Award—Sierra Central CU CEO John Cassidy and Boulder Dam CU Advocacy Consultant Sue Longson; J. Alvin George Outstanding Volunteer Award recipient—USC Board Chairman Dr. Jerald Jellison; and Tomorrow’s Star Award recipients— Natalia Custodio, marketing project manager for UNCLE CU; and Kristi Longoria, financial education administrator for San Mateo CU.

Contact Media Relations Specialist Tina Ramos-Ingold for more information on any of the awards programs or to receive nomination forms.


This award which recognizes efforts that contribute to the success and future of “Shapiro Group” or smaller asset-sized credit unions. The awards are named after the Leagues’ late vice president of credit union development and research and information. For more information, contact Carmelita Keller.

The 2019 recipients were: (individual recipient) Anna Tellez, CEO of Antioch Community FCU; (organization recipient) Orange County’s CU.

Pin It