Leagues Seek Nominations, Entries for Awards Programs

Teresa Freeborn
Xceed Financial CU CEO Teresa Freeborn was the 2017 Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award

The California and Nevada Credit Union Leagues once again seek nominations and entries for the various awards programs it administers.

Below is brief information on each award, including contact information and deadlines.

LEAGUE AWARDS: The Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement, Distinguished Service, J. Alvin George Outstanding Volunteer, and Tomorrow’s Star awards are collectively known as the League Awards:

The Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award—Leagues’ highest honor, recognizing a lifetime of contributions to the California or Nevada credit union movements; named after the father of the California credit union movement and League founder. The 2017 recipient was Teresa Freeborn, CEO of Xceed Financial CU.

The Distinguished Service Award—Recognizes California and Nevada credit union professionals’ ongoing and current contributions to the credit union community. The 2017 recipients were Richard Cooper, retired CEO of Mendo Lake CU, and Dennis Flannigan, retired CEO of Great Basin FCU.

The J. Alvin George Outstanding Volunteer Award—Named in memory of Al George, who epitomized volunteerism and leadership. Honors the significant contributions of those who serve in a volunteer capacity as directors or supervisory committee members. The 2017 recipient was Chung Bothwell, board member at UNCLE CU.

Tomorrow's Star Award—Recognizes the efforts of up-and-coming credit union leaders age 35 and under and encourages the development of future leaders. The 2017 recipient was Nina Hallock of Great Basin FCU.

Know of an exceptional credit union professional or volunteer? Nominate that person for any of these categories. The deadline for nominations is Friday, Aug. 3, 2018. Contact Media Relations Specialist Tina Ramos-Ingold at tinar@ccul.org for guidelines and nomination forms.

DORA MAXWELL/LOUISE HERRING/DESJARDINS AWARDS: Credit unions continually make a difference in the lives of their members and the communities they serve. Be recognized for those efforts! Submit an entry for one (or more) of the CUNA Awards programs. The Dora Maxwell Award recognizes community outreach efforts, while the Louise Herring Award recognizes efforts made by the credit union for its members. Have an awesome youth or adult financial education program? Showcase them by entering the Desjardins Adult or Youth Financial Education Awards.

First-place winners in each asset category AND in each awards program will be have their entries forwarded to CUNA for the national-level competition. The deadline to submit entries is Friday, June 29. Contact Tina Ramos-Ingold for guidelines and nomination forms.

KIM BANNAN ETERNAL FLAME AWARD: This award honors both an individual and organization/credit union whose efforts contribute to the success and future of Shapiro credit unions. The awards are named after the Leagues’ late vice president of credit union development and research and information. Contact Carmelita Keller for more information.

UNSUNG HERO AWARD: The Unsung Hero award is designed to honor deserving individuals from California and Nevada with at least 20 years of service and who have made significant contributions in the community in a quiet and humble manner. The deadline for nominations is Friday, Aug. 3. Contact Tina Ramos-Ingold for more information and nomination forms.


Pin It