Credit Union News

The Latest Industry News Coverage

2023 Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Lucy Ito (middle) with previous Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award recipients Teresa Freeborn (left), Joe Schroeder (middle-left), Henry Wirz (middle-right), and Bill Cheney (right).

2024 League Awards Now Accepting Nominations

The 2024 League Awards are now open! Recognize your team members and industry peers for their hard work and dedication to their credit union and the movement by honoring them with a League Award.

For nearly 50 years, the League Awards have been considered one of the industry’s most coveted peer-nominated awards programs honoring exceptional credit union leaders and volunteers in California and Nevada. Awards winners will be celebrated during a special ceremony at REACH 2024 in San Diego, CA.

League Award Categories:

  • Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award
    Leagues’ highest honor, recognizing a lifetime of contributions to the California or Nevada credit union movements.
  • Distinguished Service Award
    Recognizes California and Nevada credit union professionals’ ongoing and current contributions to the credit union community.
  • J. Alvin George Outstanding Volunteer Award
    Honors the significant contributions of those who serve in a volunteer capacity as directors or supervisory committee members.
  • Tomorrow’s Star Award
    Recognizes the efforts of up-and-coming credit union leaders aged 35 and under and encourages the development of future leaders.
  • Social Impact Award
    Recognizes individuals and credit unions that demonstrate an unyielding dedication to building stronger communities and improving members’ lives through actions such as financial education, wellness, social responsibility, mentorship, and/or diversity, equity, and inclusion practices.
  • Kim Bannan Eternal Flame Award (Shapiro credit unions)
    Recognizes and honors individuals, credit unions, and other organizations’ contributions to the success of Shapiro credit unions.
  • Network Awards
    We are also accepting nominations for the 2024 Network Awards of Excellence (one individual and one Network).

Deadline: July 26, 2024

Nominate Here. 


Related News

Become an Industry Supporter

Get membership information

Please contact me about compliance

Contact me about Credit Union Solutions

Education & Professional Development