Credit Union News

The Latest Industry News Coverage

Online banking

Meriwest CU Partners with Financial Fitness Association

Joining 17 fellow credit unions headquartered in California, Meriwest CU has partnered with the Financial Fitness Association (FFA) to help raise awareness and promote good financial habits among its members.

Individuals who are existing members of FFA or who want to join FFA can now be served by Meriwest CU.

“We are so excited to be partnering with FFA because it will allow us to help those outside our footprint and give our community another resource and set of tools to help them manage, protect, and conserve their money at every stage of their life,” said Teresa Caseras, vice president of marketing for Meriwest CU.

In support of the agreement, Meriwest CU will pay the initial membership fee for new FFA members. The credit union serves 80,000 families and businesses throughout the Bay Area region of California and Pima County, Arizona.

FFA, a nonprofit organization founded in 2004, partners with credit unions and organizations to promote financial fitness and guide consumers through financial hurdles. FFA helps consumers address many common financial concerns, including:

  • Understanding and improving their credit scores.
  • Guarding against identity theft.
  • Making the transition from college to career.
  • Managing credit cards efficiently.
  • Benefitting from new financial products and services.
  • Managing finances easily and effectively.
  • Planning for a prosperous future.

Members of FFA are eligible to join one of the following California-headquartered credit unions that are active partners with FFA:

  • Chevron FCU.
  • CommonWealth Central CU (limited to those who reside or regularly work in the counties of Alameda, Contra Costa, Monterey, San Benito, San Mateo, and Santa Cruz).
  • First Tech FCU.
  • Heritage Community CU (California only).
  • KeyPoint CU.
  • LBS Financial CU (California only).
  • Meriwest CU (California and Arizona only).
  • My CU (limited to the counties of Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano, and Sonoma).
  • Patelco CU.
  • Safe America CU (California only).
  • San Diego County CU.
  • San Mateo CU.
  • Sierra Central CU (all persons who reside or regularly work or regularly worship or currently attend school in the counties of Tuolumne, Modoc, Shasta, Tehama, Glenn, Lassen, Butte, Sutter, Yuba, Nevada, Placer, El Dorado, and Alpine).
  • SRI FCU.
  • Technology CU.
  • Valley Strong CU.

Related News

Become an Industry Supporter

Get membership information

Please contact me about compliance

Contact me about Credit Union Solutions

Education & Professional Development