Advocacy updates

The latest in state and federal legislative and regulatory affairs

Welcome to our Advocacy Updates page, where you can stay informed about the latest developments in our efforts to represent credit unions in California and Nevada. Check back regularly for updates on our advocacy efforts and how they are making a difference for credit unions and their members in our states. Sign up today to receive bi-weekly legislative and regulatory updates on activity in Washington, D.C., Sacramento, and Carson City. 

Updates

Please Encourage Opposition to CA Overdraft and NSF Bill

Senate Bill 1075 is scheduled to be heard in committee on April 3 in the California State Legislature. Please continue encouraging credit union supporters to Connect for the Cause and oppose this bill!

State Charter Modernization Bill to Help Strengthen Dual-Charter System

Assembly Bill 2062 is scheduled to be heard in committee on April 15. This bill is authored by California Assembly Banking and Finance Committee Chair Tim Grayson.

National Credit Union Administration Board Member Tanya Otsuka

The Leagues and credit union leaders met virtually this week to discuss important regulatory issues and welcome Board Member Otsuka.

Preparing Comments for the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

The Leagues are preparing comments on the CFPB’s proposal regarding overdraft lending for very large financial institutions. See our executive summary and toolkit.

The comment period ends April 1.

Meeting with California Department of Financial Protection and Innovation

The California League is hosting a meeting with California DFPI Senior Deputy Commissioner of Financial Institutions Greg Young and Deputy Commissioner of Credit Unions Purvi Patel during our 2024 California Government Relations Rally.

Past Advocacy Update Newsletters

Subscribe to Advocacy Blog

Receive instant Advocacy Blog updates and news when important legislative and regulatory activity occurs.

Credit Union Overdraft

Your Advocacy Team

Stephanie Cuevas
SVP of Federal Government Affairs
scuevas@ccul.org

Robert Wilson
SVP of State Government Affairs
robertw@ccul.org

Lisa Quaranta
VP of Regulatory Advocacy and Compliance
lisaq@ccul.org

Angelica Pappalardo
Manager of Political Advocacy
angelicap@ccul.org

Emily Udell
Policy Advocate for State Government Affairs
emilyu@ccul.org

Madison Lee
Advocacy Specialist
madisonl@ccul.org

Desiree DeNecochea
Administrative Advocacy Specialist
desireed@ccul.org

Become an Industry Supporter

Get membership information

Please contact me about compliance

Contact me about Credit Union Solutions

Education & Professional Development